In 1993, Florida Statute 943.125 directed that the Florida Sheriffs Association and the Florida Police Chiefs Association create a voluntary law enforcement accreditation program. Representatives from these Associations developed a process for accreditation which required compliance with more than 250 professional standards designed specifically for Florida law enforcement agencies. The Commission for Florida Law Enforcement Accreditation was formed, comprised of four Sheriffs, four Chiefs' of Police, and one representative each from the Association of Counties, the League of Cities, the State Law Enforcement Chiefs' Association, the Judiciary, and the Inspectors General. The Commission meets three times per year to oversee the accreditation program and to officially accredit agencies that have passed the rigorous review process.
Accreditation is a coveted award that symbolizes professionalism, excellence, and competence. Accreditation increases the law enforcement agency’s ability to prevent and control crime through more effective and efficient delivery of law enforcement services to the community it serves. Accreditation enhances community understanding of the law enforcement agency, and its role in the community as well as its goals and objectives. Citizen confidence in the policies and practices of the agency is increased.
The Florida State University Police Department was awarded its initial accreditation by the Commission for Florida Law Enforcement Accreditation on May 22, 2002. A re-evaluation of the agency occurs every three years. The Agency has been reaccredited after each on-site assessment. Florida State University Police Department was most recently awarded the status of reaccreditation in 2020 and has earned the prestigious award of an Excelsior Agency for the past two accreditation cycles.